Catherine Mavriplis

Associate Professor and Professional Engineer

NSERC - Pratt & Whitney Chair for Women in Science and Engineering for the Ontario region

Undergraduate studies in Mechanical Engineering (Honours) at McGill University in Montreal and Master's and Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics at MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Thesis advisors were Rabi Baliga (Bachelor's), Wes Harris (Master's), and Tony Patera (Ph.D.), though Yvon Maday was also heavily involved for the Ph.D. Postdoc' with Steve Orszag at Princeton University in the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics and the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Tenured professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at The George Washington University from 1991 to 2005. Co-director and co-founder of the Center for the Study of Combustion and the Environment. Participating member and co-founder of the Institute for MEMS and VLSI Technologies.

Visiting scientist at ICASE and at CERCA and a Program Director in the Division of Mathematical Sciences at the National Science Foundation.

Research Scientist at the University of Oklahoma and the NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory in Norman, Oklahoma.

Currently associate professor of mechanical engineering at University of Ottawa, Canada and
NSERC - Pratt & Whitney Chair for Women in Science and Engineering for the Ontario region.

Funded by NSERC, Pratt & Whitney Canada, NSF, NASA, EPA, MITACS, State of Oklahoma.
Graduated 10 PhD students, 3 Engineer degree students, 8 MS thesis students,
and supervised 5 Postdocs. Currently supervising 1 postdoc, 4 Ph.D. students, 2 Master's and 2 undergraduates.

Licenses: P.E. (Virginia) and P. Eng. (PEO (Ontario))

CFD Society of Canada Board of Directors
Canadian Aeronautics and SPace Insitute of Canada
Women in Science, Engineering, Technology and the Trades
Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation - Science and Engineering Hall of Fame Selection Committee

GWU Engineers' Council Professor of the Year Award, 1994
NSF ADVANCE Leadership Award 2001
NSF ADVANCE Leadership Award 2005